September’s edition of TrueStyleMusic’s Spotify playlist is now live

The latest edition of TrueStyleMusic’s Spotify playlist is now live, with 12 tracks from some of the best up and coming indie, rock, acoustic and alternative artists out there. Most have been discovered from Musosoup, and if you are looking to get connected with over 200 other curators you can sign up here.

Opening up the playlist is Childhood by The Fox at Night. This debut dance track from this Scottish duo has house and electric synth vibes running throughout. Hopefully this pop anthem will make you engage your mind and reminisce about a much simpler time.

Following this is Wreckage by TrueStyleMusic’s old friend Heartwork (AKA Dan O’Dell), featuring Ed Pool. Dan has been busy at work this year, and has given us a new EP, Six, two singles and a Blink-182 acoustic cover album. If that wasn’t enough, he has also played a host of live streams, keeping us entertained over lockdown. This latest track combines Dan’s multi-talented musicianship with both of his and Ed’s vocals to create a rock track that’s pretty decent.

Up next is Simple Safari with “YOUTH”. In this latest adventure, co-founder of The Manatees James Brearley sets out with his own unconventional DIY approach to music, writing, recording and mixing everything himself. This debut single. The mix of upbeat indie sounds, combined with the lo-fi bridge, make this a track to look out for.

This is followed by Arise, the latest track from Phillip Morgan Lewis, released last week. This classic rock track from the London based multi-instrumentalist gives off some serious post-punk vibes and is one that hopefully I’ll be able to see live one day. The track has also been licenced for music placement in films and TV in the USA, so look out for it there.


Hybrid Kid’s newest single, Dropped, features next. Since its recent release, the track is starting to make waves and has been picked up by Tom Robinson from BBC 6 music. Often sticking to more ‘tradition’ song styles, this band are back in the UK after a stint over in the US, and are another one I hope to see live one day. I think their description of “if Pavement and David Bowie met The Stooges and MC5 in a seaside town like Brighton” reigns pretty true.

This is followed by Inaction by Alex Maxwell. This indie-folk artist from Dumfries is back after 2 years away. In 2017, he was championed as a BBC introducing artist for his debut single The Want Comes In Waves. This latest single combines Alex’s distinct Scottish melodies with indie guitar solos to create this one of a kind track, and another one to look out for.

Up next is something from slightly further afield. Swiims, an indie 4-piece from Toronto, Canada, released their debut EP, Through Waves, back in August, and the video for Hand Of Love came out last week. Their style is a mix of everything dream pop to shoegaze, and this track is no exception. The band’s 80s influence really shows in Hand Of Love.

Now for something slightly closer to home. Atari Pilot’s latest single, Blank Pages, is their third single release of the year. This DIY band combine the their mixed life experiences to create their music, and the passion shows, both through the lyrics and accompanying music. The mix of synths and more traditional instruments combine to make this a track I could see rocking a live venue.

Atari Pilot

Coming up after this is Snowflakes from Forgotten Garden, the lead track from their latest EP Broken Pieces. This band combine elements of 80s synth, with post-punk vibes, and is driven by the rolling bass line. The band’s lead singer, Ines completes their almost haunting melodies into this fabulous EP.

Proceeding this is How Long? by The King’s Parade. These guys have been releasing nonstop for the last three years, and the music video of How Long? came out a couple of weeks ago. The homemade video, recorded during lockdown, shows the chaos that can often come with band rehearsals (something many of us will know too well). This track explores the feelings of nostalgia through the singing and talent from the musicians. Another one to really watch out for.

The penultimate track in this edition is from Luke Jones, with Where Do We Go. This is the second single Luke has released, after his debut single Follow Suit was released earlier this year. It was written in the notes section of his phone while waiting for his girlfriend, and the mixture of figure picked electric guitar and indie vibes combine to show his message of the confusion of modern life and everything that goes with it. Definitely one for fans of Sam Fender, Mystery Jets and Arlo Parks.

And then to round things off, we have I won’t Be Doing That Again, the latest single from Sam Seccombe. Another indie-pop driven track (you can never have too many on one playlist), this is Sam’s 4th single release of the year, and part of his Second EP for the year. Sam’s hard work and determination, with producing all his music himself in his bedroom, really goes to show in this latest track, and is one that has the potential to really go far in this world.

Sam Seccombe

And that’s it for this edition of the playlist. Hopefully you find at least one new cool track to take your fancy.

If you want to be featured on an upcoming playlist, sign up to Musosoup or contact me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: